(BBC) Voters head to the polls in Peterborough by-election


Ballot box

Voters are heading to the polls in Peterborough to vote in a by-election for a new MP.

A total of 15 candidates are running in the contest to replace former MP Fiona Onysanya – who was removed in May following a recall petition.

The polls in the Cambridgeshire city opened at 07:00 BST and will close at 22:00.

Results are expected in the early hours of Friday and coverage can be watched on BBC One’s This Week from 23:35.

The seat was won by Labour in 2017, but the party only beat the Conservatives – who had held it since 2005 – by 607 votes.

The confirmed candidates are:

  • Brexit Party – Mike Greene
  • Christian People’s Alliance – Tom Rogers
  • Common Good: Remain in the EU – Dick Rodgers
  • Conservatives – Paul Bristow
  • English Democrats – Stephen Goldspink
  • Green Party – Joseph Wells
  • Independent – Andrew John Moore
  • Independent – Bobby Smith
  • Labour – Lisa Forbes
  • Liberal Democrats – Beki Sellick
  • Official Monster Raving Loony Party – Alan “Howling Laud” Hope
  • Renew – Peter Ward
  • SDP Fighting for Brexit – Patrick O’Flynn
  • UK European Union Party – Pierre Kirk
  • UKIP – John Whitby